BCS HEQ- Certificate in IT

The British Computer Society-Higher Education Qualifications (BCS HEQ) are offered by the BCS, the
Chartered Institute for Information Technology (CIIT) in the UK (http://www.bcs.org). They are the
“gold standard” set of internationally recognized IT qualifications since 1969. It allows a candidate to
earn a UK university honours degree equivalent IT qualification when fully completed and become
eligible for Post Graduate studies in more than 150 selected universities in the UK and in Sri Lanka.

This is the foundation level of BCS Higher Education Qualifications. This level is the academic
equivalent to year I of UK university honours degree and is recognized by the Qualifications and
Curriculum Authority (QCA) as level 4.

Recognition (Upon completion)

  • Academic equivalent to year 1 of a UK university honours degree (recognized by Ofqual as   Level 4).
  • The candidate is eligible to apply for AMBCS

Course Type

Part Time

Course Commencement Dates

January / October


6 Months

Course Modules

Course Modules


Information Systems


Software Development


Computer & Network Technology

*All three modules are compulsary

Entry Requirements

No formal entry requirement for BCS Certificate in IT level. It is suitable for anyone who wish to
Become an IT Professional. Students after GCE (O/L) Sri Lanka/London and GCE (A/L) Sri Lanka/London also can apply.