BCS HEQ – Professional Graduate Diploma in IT

The British Computer Society-Higher Education Qualifications (BCS HEQ) are offered by the BCS, the
Chartered Institute for Information Technology (CIIT) in the UK (http://www.bcs.org). They are the
“gold standard” set of internationally recognized IT qualifications since 1969. It allows a candidate to earn a UK university honours degree equivalent IT qualification when fully completed and become eligible for Post Graduate studies in more than 150 selected universities in the UK and in Sri Lanka.

This level is the academic equivalent to year 3 of UK university honours degree and is recognized bythe Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) as level 6.

Recognition (Upon completion)

  • Academic equivalent to year 3 of a UK university honours degree (recognized by Ofqual as   Level 6).
  • The candidate is eligible to apply for MBCS with two (02) years IT industry experience

Course Type

Part Time

Course Commencement Dates

April/ October


6 Months

Course Modules

Course Modules


Advanced Database Management Systems


Management Information Systems


Software Engineering II


Computer Service Management


Knowledge Based Systems


Network Information Systems


Web Engineering


Programming Paradigms


System Design Methods

*Four modules selected by student which will suit their career path

Entry Requirements

Passing of or exempted from BCS HEQ certificate in IT course